Skip to content

Baked Scallops

November 16, 2009

Last weekend I did the unthinkable.  I got all caught up in Big Y’s Wacky Weekend sale and I actually bought too much seafood.  I bought lobsters – $4.99 a pound, yeah baby! – and crabmeat – two one pound cans for $12, uh-huh – and fresh sea scallops.  I bought two pounds of fresh, not-previously-frozen scallops because they were $6.99 a pound, how could I resist?  We had lobster for dinner last Saturday night.  I bought the scallops on Sunday morning.  But then we went to a Christening on Sunday and to the lovely after-party at the Storrowton Tavern.  We stuffed ourselves at the lovely buffet, which featured more seafood – lobster manicotti, yum yum!  And by Sunday evening, we just weren’t hungry for a big, real dinner.  I know – I could have saved the scallops for Monday night, but I had plans already to go out for dinner with friends on Monday night.  What to do, what to do?  Would they still be good on Tuesday?  I just wasn’t feeling comfortable with that.  I did some research and finally and begrudgingly, froze the scallops. 

I know, I know!  Frozen scallops – the texture is wrong, they are too wet, they just aren’t the same.  But, I did it carefully.  I dried them and placed them on tin pans and put them in the freezer to freeze individually first before placing them in a zippered freezer bag and squeezing out as much air as I could.  I knew that sadly I would not be able to sear the scallops after I thawed them – they would just be too wet.  But, they should be just fine in a casserole where extra moisture is not a problem. 

I perused recipes and ended up making my own concoction a few days later.  I didn’t want to leave them in the freezer very long at all.  I thawed them and then dried them again, and placed them in the bottom of a casserole dish.

Meanwhile, I sauteed some onions and garlic in butter…

And added about a cup of swill!

That’s right, nothing but the finest white vino around here! I keep it in a bucket in the fridge. Heh. Actually, this stuff is pretty good. It is Black Box Sauvignon Blanc, but we brought it to New York in a cooler and never ended up taking it out and the box soaked through and was destroyed.

See? Nice classy Black Box – this one is the Cabernet, box intact.

But back to the scallops. I added a cup of white wine and a cup of light cream to the butter, garlic and onions and brought it to a simmer. I poured the mixture over the scallops…

…and then topped it with two kinds of bread crumbs; Italian style for flavor and Panko for crispiness.

I dotted it with a little butter and popped it in the oven at 400, keeping an eye on it for 10 minutes. I didn’t want to overcook the scallops, but I did want the top to brown. So, I switched to broil and in about 5 more minutes, I had this:

A golden, crispy crust atop scallops in a sort of creamy sauce. I say sort of, because the sauce separated a bit in the oven – the cream seemed to sort of coagulate a bit. But, it didn’t really matter. It still tasted great and the scallops were just fine, actually! They weren’t rubbery or fishy, just sweet and delicious. Success despite the odds! Yum.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. karma permalink
    November 16, 2009 9:15 pm

    Did you think of your scallop-loving sister at all as you ate these? Sounds delish. As you know I never cook seafood at home because I’m the only one in the house who really enjoys it and I really don’t like the smell of it in the house afterwards. Why does thawing frozen scallops make them un-searable? You said they’d be too wet, but aren’t they wet when you buy them fresh?

    • Jennifer A permalink*
      November 17, 2009 12:53 am

      They are moist when you buy them fresh, but you can dry them off with a paper towel and they are fine. When you freeze them, they are downright watery.

  2. November 18, 2010 5:21 pm

    Great post! If your looking for more great seafood recipes visit http://seastarcorp.com/recipes/ and become a fan of Sea Star Seafood on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/Sea.Star.Seafood! We provide healthy, convenient, and affordable seafood that the whole family likes!

Leave a Reply

