Skip to content

Date Night – and a giveaway!

November 9, 2009

My husband and I went on a much needed and enjoyed date night this Friday and we finally went to a new-ish restaurant I have been wanting to try.  It’s called Lattitude and it is in West Springfield near the Big E.  We started with the clams and mussels with maple pepper bacon, tomato, garlic and white wine sauce, which was lovely – the clams were big and clean, the mussels were sweet, and the sauce was perfect for mopping up with the warm crusty bread they served.  My entree was also very nice, although my crap-cam cell phone picture doesn’t do it any justice.

It was cornmeal crusted halibut, topped with lobster hummus, and Mediterranean spiced jasmine rice. Yes, you read that right – lobster hummus. I’ve never heard of such a thing either, and I am not sure it needed to happen, at least not on top of that nice piece of fish. Hummus is usually served cold, you see, and it was no different here. It’s not that it didn’t taste good, I just personally didn’t enjoy the cold lump on top of my hot meal. Might have been nice as an appetizer or with a salad though!

The real star of the night though was this dish:

My husband had the pan seared scallops with pumpkin ravioli and candied walnut and sage cream sauce. The pumpkin ravioli were out-of-this-world, crazy insane tasty. We asked more about them and learned that the chef roasts the pumpkin and then mixes it with mascarpone cheese and just a little seasoning. So, now the quest is on… I have in my possession a small sugar pumpkin, a tub of mascarpone and some wonton wrappers. Watch this space for updates on my attempts to re-create!

So, don’t you think it’s about time you went on a date night? Here’s a little nudge – I’m giving away a $10 gift card to National Amusements so you can go to the movies.  Well, maybe it won’t pay for both of you, but it’s a start.  Or go by yourself, or to a matinee so you get more bang for your buck.  Things have been pretty slow here in the comments so you’re going to have to leave one to win!  Just leave a comment telling me where you would go on a nice date night, and keep it clean, gosh golly darn it.  You have until Wednesday at midnight Eastern time to enter and I will pick a winner by random and announce it on Thursday evening.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 4:15 am

    Hmm…well, I’ve read about your expertise in the kitchen, so I’m gonna have to say I’d like to have a date night at your house. But I don’t wanna win. Let someone else have the prize this time! (I’m enjoying the book, btw!)

  2. karma permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:41 pm

    I’d like to say that I’ve left a comment on every blog entry save one so far! 😉

    A date night, huh? Somewhere I’ve never been with fabulous food that both hubby and I would enjoy – probably means not too “artsy-fartsy” for him and not too beer-pub menu for me! Suggestions welcome!

    • November 10, 2009 2:55 am

      New York Part 1 – zero comments. Just sayin’.

      • karma permalink
        November 10, 2009 8:07 pm

        Yeah – that would be the “save one” part of my comment! ;-P

  3. Jennifer Barr permalink
    November 11, 2009 11:10 am

    I’ve been wanting to go out to eat for a long while now.

  4. Leigh G permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:53 pm

    I think the perfect date night would be to have a cookout on the beach in August with some steaks, lobster, steamers, corn-on-the-cob, good drink, a blanket and my hubby. There is nothing more romantic than lying on the beach together next to a campfire gazing up at the stars. Every August the Perseid meteor showers put on a show in the sky that is truly a sight to be seen. If you’ve ever been lucky enough to see it, you know how truly amazing it is and how wonderful it would be to share that with your honey. It’s magical.

    • karma permalink
      November 12, 2009 12:07 am

      Leigh, you should win just for coming up with that comment! Sounds perfect!

  5. November 11, 2009 1:56 pm

    I want a date night with Leigh G’s husband! lol

  6. Renae permalink
    November 12, 2009 3:38 am

    Any place without a children’s menu.

  7. November 14, 2009 6:15 pm

    We’re heading to lattitude tonight! I am going to get those scallops fo sho!

    • November 14, 2009 6:31 pm

      Oooh, enjoy!! I am going to try to re-create the ravioli tonight.

Leave a Reply

