Skip to content

Chicken & Veggie Pizza!

October 28, 2009

A typical conversation in my house:

Husband: What’s for dinner tonight?

Me: Chicken

Husband: Did you say pizza?

Me: Nope, chicken

Husband: Oh, pizza!  Yay, my favorite!

Me: No, chicken

Husband: Chicken pizza?  Okay, that sounds good! 

Me: No, just chicken, 

Husband:  Chicken pizza!  Yay!

Most of the time, I would just make whatever I was planning and move on!  But, when this actually happened last night, all I had actually thawed was one bone-in chicken breast and I was already concerned it might not be enough for both of us.  But, I did have some pita bread in the cupboard… hmmm.

I got to work chopping up whatever veggies I had in the fridge that I wanted to use up. In this case, it was mushrooms, leeks, onions, carrots, celery and zucchini. I also found a rotten cucumber and a rotten pepper, but I didn’t chop those up. I tossed the good stuff with a little canola oil and put it all in a pan with the piece of chicken and roasted it at 450 until that probe thermometer you see there registered 165 in the deepest part of the meat. 

Meanwhile, I spread out the pitas on a cookie sheet and coated them with olive oil. Then, to give it a little something gourmet-ish, I grated a little fresh parmesan cheese on top of them.

When the chicken was done, I took off the skin and picked off the meat.

Next, I spread the veggies on the pitas, topped with chicken and mozzarella cheese and put them under the broiler for a few minutes.

And here we have it:

Easy chicken pizza! Everybody’s happy! And, other than all that cheese, it’s actually pretty healthy. I thought it was fabulous – I love leeks just about any which way, not to mention the flavor of just about any roasted vegetable. So, clean out that fridge and give it a try!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. karma permalink
    October 28, 2009 8:38 pm

    Wow, you can get away with calling pita bread, ” pizza” in your house? I can’t imagine that working here! This recipe looks quite interesting to me, but, as often happens to me, I feel that I am likely the only one in the house who would appreciate it.

  2. Leigh G permalink
    October 28, 2009 11:25 pm

    This does look good but like you Karma, that would never pass as pizza in my house!

    With a chicken pizza, don’t they sometimes use some kind of white sauce?

  3. October 29, 2009 12:00 am

    Wow, this is a tough crowd, or maybe you live with tough crowds. Hey, it’s better than English muffins! And its pizza if I say its pizza, darn it! 😉

    Or, here’s an idea – use the same mixture and stuff it inside the pita! Or fold it in half.

  4. October 29, 2009 11:06 pm

    We sometimes make pizzas from pitas, too! Have you ever tried Joseph’s Lavash Wraps? They are huge squares – I’m talking HUGE! It makes a very large pizza for one person. The nutritional info o them is also great. 🙂

    • October 30, 2009 12:22 am

      Hi Jessica – Thanks for stopping by! Actually, I haven’t tried Joseph’s Lavash Wraps but those were Joseph’s pitas! They are the whole grain ones with the added omegas, etc. I like the idea of the huge square though… next time!

Leave a Reply

