Skip to content

New York, Part 2

October 21, 2009

After the show (Memphis!  Go see it – it’s like Hairspray meets Forrest Gump and that’s actually a good thing), we went to dinner at Carmine’s.

It’s a fixture in the theater district, apparently.  They serve family-style Italian with the menu posted on big signs on the wall so your whole table can decide together.   It reminded me of Maggiano’s Little Italy, which I visited in Boston back in 2005. 

At Carmine’s, we decided to start with the cold antipasto platter.  Their website doesn’t have a description of what is on the platter, but what I recall is marinated roasted red peppers, mozzarella and grape tomatoes, a cold calamari salad, some sort of a bean salad that I think was lentil, smoked salmon on toast points, and a really nasty eggy frittata thing that tasted like fish.  I think there might have been one or two other items on it as well, but I think I may have blocked them out because I didn’t like them.  The calamari salad was pretty good, but other than that, I was not impressed with the rest of the dish. 

For our entrees, we chose the four pasta platter, veal scallopine with lemon and butter, and our waiter talked us into a plate of meatballs.  The four pasta platter included ziti with meat sauce, veggie lasagna, cheese canneloni, and four cheese ravioli.  The ravioli was my favorite.  I didn’t care for the sauce on the ziti, though, I found the canneloni bland, and there was something in the lasagna that just seemed funky to me.  The veal was lovely though, and the meatballs weren’t too bad either. 

The rest of my group seemed to really like everything, so maybe I’m just getting fussy in my old age!  But, here’s what I do know – for a theater district tourist-friendly dinner, I preferred Sardi’s.  And for a family-style Italian restaurant, I preferred Maggiano’s.  Ah, well, what really matters is that we had a great time visiting with friends in New York and a beautiful day in the city.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    October 21, 2009 3:01 am

    The last paragraph says it all!! Love you guys!

  2. October 21, 2009 5:42 pm

    Next time you’re in the City, try Il Vagabondo’s on E. 62nd St.

    http://www.ilvagabondo.com/html/menu.htm

    I haven’t eaten there since I was a teenager, and still think it was the very best Italian I’ve ever had in my life. My Dad is still a regular there and stops in every time he’s in the City. 🙂

  3. karma permalink
    October 23, 2009 7:01 pm

    Totally unrelated to this post, but your “tweet” reminded me; my Rocco cookbook has gone missing!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😦

  4. October 23, 2009 11:57 pm

    Ooh, thanks for the recommendation, KD! Sounds delish!

    Karma, how the heck could you have lost your book? Did it make it into the house, did you look at it at all yet? What about the calendar and the magazine?

    • karma permalink
      October 24, 2009 1:07 pm

      Yes, it came in the house. I flipped through briefly, but hadn’t really sat down and looked at recipes I wanted to try. The calendar and magazine were still in the Foxwoods bag. It must have gotten “tucked” somewhere during a clean-up, but I can’t remember where and I am very frustrated!

      • karma permalink
        October 25, 2009 6:34 pm

        Found it! It was hidden behind some other cookbooks; don’t know how it got behind them since it is the new one in the house!

Leave a Reply

