Skip to content

Grilled Sweet Potato Fries

April 18, 2011

This quick little recipe was inspired by another fun blog I love to follow, Dixie Chik Cooks. Dixie Chik recently posted her recipe for grilled french fries with jalapeno cheese sauce. Please – click on that link. Go look at those fries and that cheese sauce. Doesn’t that make you want to dip your fries, burger, pork chops in that sauce? And maybe pour it on your breakfast cereal? And this is the kind of thing she makes when she’s just tired and hungry and wants to use up taters.

Well, I didn’t have regular potatoes I needed to use up, but I did have sweet potatoes that looked like they wanted to go say hi to my grill.

IMG_2557_edited-1

I used Dixie Chik’s method and peeled and sliced the sweet potatoes ahead of time and soaked them in some hot water. Later, I drained them, patted them dry, and tossed them with some olive oil. Then I considered seasonings. Salt and pepper were obvious, but what else would be good with sweet potatoes? They are indeed sweet. So, I thought about spices that go well with sweets like cinnamon and clove, which made me think of Five-Spice Powder.

IMG_2558_edited-1

I actually do have a grill basket and I think this was only the second time I ever took it for whirl. It did a pretty good job of wrangling the fries although one or two did sneak out.

IMG_2560

A few fries got a little burned but here’s the bonus – the burnt ones taste like marshmallows and really, how bad is that?

IMG_2561_edited-1

I served mine up with the pork chops I grilled at the same time and the sweet flavor complemented the pork perfectly. I didn’t, however, make that jalapeno cheese sauce yet though because even though it sounds like it might be even good on breakfast cereal, I had a feeling it might not be quite as good a match on the sweet potatoes. I’ll wait till I grill up some regular potatoes sometime soon to try the sauce. In the meantime, I’ll be reading Dixie Chik Cooks for more great recipes, and you should too. And try the sweet potatoes – mix up the spices, try something new!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 9:20 pm

    I LOVE sweet potato fries – And oh my – the burnt ones are sooo good! Glad I’m not the only one LOL!!! Great side dish to go with anything :)

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 18, 2011 9:24 pm

      I could eat sweet potatoes many, many days a week. And they are so good for you I wouldn’t have have to feel guilty, even if I did decide to pour cheese sauce over them. Maybe. ;-)

  2. April 19, 2011 8:00 am

    This looks interesting and easy enough to give it a whirl. Maybe even my picky children, who are thankfully growing less picky, would be willing to eat them. I don’t remember if I’ve ever actually peeled sweet potatoes; are they tougher than regular potatoes?

    • April 19, 2011 7:38 pm

      They are a little bit tougher but easy enough to peel if you have a decent peeler.

  3. April 19, 2011 8:23 am

    I LOOOOVE sweet potato fries! I think all restaurants should replace the regular ones with the sweet potatoes.
    Next time hubby fires up the grill, I’m going to have sweet potatoes ready :-)

    • April 19, 2011 7:40 pm

      Yay!

      One restaurant I tried had amazing shoestring sweet potato fries with a spicy dipping sauce – amazing! Maybe I’ll have to attempt that at home next.

  4. April 19, 2011 10:34 am

    I was never a huge fan of sweet potatoes…until I had them as fries. That made allll the difference.

    • April 19, 2011 7:40 pm

      Seriously, what isn’t good fried?

      Although I do love a good old fashioned baked sweet potato with butter and maybe a little sugar and cinnamon for fun.

  5. April 19, 2011 1:35 pm

    Yes! Grilled sweets are the best!!! :)

    • April 19, 2011 7:41 pm

      This was my first time grilling them, I think. Glad I joined the club. :-)

  6. April 20, 2011 7:23 pm

    My weakness! Love sweet potato fries and am happy for a new method to make them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

