Skip to content

All Abby Dodge, All The Time

April 13, 2011

Abby Dodge – she of Desserts 4 Today and all those easy, delicious, sophisticated treats, also has a pretty awesome blog. Come for the recipes, stay for the fun stories! She’s just too cute. And I want to make pretty much everything she posts. In fact, when she posted her Key Lime Heaven recipe on a Thursday, I had it made by Saturday. Sort of.

IMG_2551

As it turned out, I could not find any Key limes in my local megamart, but Abby said you could substitute lemons if you couldn’t find them. I had no idea how many lemons I would need to get enough juice so I just bought a few big ones and I juiced. And I juiced. And then I juiced some more. Then I dug out a sad old regular lime from my produce drawer and juiced that. Then I found another older lemon sitting around in there and juiced that. (Interesting tidbit – the old lemon had more juiced than the fresh one. Hmm.) I still didn’t have enough juice. I made up the difference with orange juice. Mixed Citrus Tart it is, then!

IMG_2553

Looks kind of like a cheesecake before baking, doesn’t it? So, here’s the thing. My finished tart? Does NOT look like Abby’s. Like… at all. I followed Abby’s instruction to wrap the bottom of my springform pan with foil when baking the crust but then like a goober, I didn’t take it off to bake the tart. I ended up with the same issue as with my cheesecake where it took WAY longer to bake and set up than it was supposed to. I mean, it was jiggly like jelly and Santa’s belly after 40 minutes. So I baked it some more. And some more. And then some more after that. And then maybe… just maybe… I mighta sorta forgot about it for a bit while I sat downstairs by the fire with my husband and played cribbage.

IMG_2555

Golden brown and delicious, right?? Actually – yes, right! It was indeed delicious, despite it’s suntan. Hey, at least somehow I got it a little more reminiscent of the Keys – a nice tan. I neglected to take a picture of it on the plate, topped with creme fraiche as Abby recommends but that might again have been one of those cases where we inhaled it too quickly to think of photos. Ooops. And if you like the sound of this tart, make sure and check out Vino Luci Style’s variation with Key limes and coconut!

In the next case, I don’t even have any process pictures. I finally used up the very last of last summer’s strawberries from our garden in Abby’s Strawberry Trifle. I don’t have a real trifle dish and I didn’t have quite enough strawberries, and certainly not any super pretty fresh strawberries to slice and garnish it up. But I did the best I could and came up with this:

IMG_2562_edited-1

Not too shabby, right? My husband is not a big fan of the color pink (he does like the artist Pink though. He’s complicated.) but he was not offended by this dessert. In fact, this was just another in a string of Abby Dodge hits around here. Thanks, Abby!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 2:52 am

    Yet another recipe for me to make when I can get back into my kitchen again. I WANT to make the cheesecake now my stomach shouts at me, but the rest of me is physically unwilling and telling me to take some pain relief and go have a good sleep.
    Stomach you loose. Today anyway. this will keep.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 14, 2011 7:55 pm

      Feel better soon and make yourself something wonderful! :-)

  2. April 14, 2011 8:19 am

    I think I need to fix my RSS Subscription to Abby’s blog…because I have not seen her Key Lime Tart post.

    • April 14, 2011 9:42 am

      I just realized I don’t have Abby’s blog on my Google Reader. Added. I can’t afford to miss out on any more key lime action.

      Jennifer, I don’t own a trifle dish either. My cabinet space won’t allow for one.

      • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
        April 14, 2011 7:56 pm

        Yeah, I really don’t know where I’d stash one either. For that kind of room, I’d rather have a big lobster pot.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 14, 2011 7:55 pm

      Maybe it changed when Abby’s blog got the fab makeover?

  3. April 14, 2011 9:31 am

    hey baby! LOVE the post – thanks for the love!
    Sounds to me like “santa’s belly jiggle + 5 or 10 minutes would have done it.. just like cheesecake, it will continue to set as it cools.. Also, you can keep the foil on the pan through the whole cooking time.. I can’t wait until it’s local strawb season.. that trifle is calling my name :) xx

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 14, 2011 7:57 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Abby!

      Local strawberries are just the best. California berries just can’t compare.

Trackbacks

  1. A Denver, Colorado Food Blog with Recipes and Photos - Vino Luci Style – Recipe: Coconut Key Lime Tart with Graham Cracker Crust
  2. Coconut Key Lime Tart with Graham Cracker Crust — A Denver, Colorado Food Blog with Recipes and Photos - Vino Luci Style
  3. Coconut Key Lime Tart with Graham Cracker Crust — A Denver Colorado Food Blog - Sharing food through recipes and photography.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

