Skip to content

Enter the Haggis

April 10, 2011

Our next door neighbor and friend is a Shriner and also a member of the Shriners’ Highlanders – the kilt-wearing bagpipers and drummers you see at the parades. The Highlanders had their annual Spring Fling party this weekend and we were invited for dinner, dancing and entertainment. The food was catered by Tony & Penny’s, the dancing music was by Brass Attack, and the entertainment was by the Highlanders themselves which included not only piping and drumming, but a special ceremony to present the haggis.

Yes, haggis! And if you don’t know what haggis is, Alton Brown would like to fill you in, Braveheart style.

Sounds tasty, right?? Well, I was brave. Each table at first received a plate of haggis to share family-style and I took a few spoonfuls. And really, it wasn’t bad. But then one of the Highlanders came around with more haggis in a special presentation case.

04-09-11_1923_edited-1

He asked if anyone would like some of that haggis and I asked what the difference was. He only said the one that was already on the table was made with ground beef. The one he was serving was not. I can’t confirm or deny what that globular shape in the photo is. I didn’t ask. It might be a sheep’s bladder, or a cow’s stomach. Or some sort of artificial cooking vessel – let’s tell ourselves that.

I continued my bravery. I tried the not-ground-beef haggis. And… it definitely had a funk to it. It tasted sort of gamey compared to the ground beef haggis. I won’t be making my own any time soon but at least I can say I tried! A Scots friend of mine on Facebook tells me they even have some very fine vegetarian haggis across the pond. Who knew? And for my bravery, I received this:

04-09-11_2214_edited-1

Okay, it was actually a door prize but it does seem like a good haggis-braving reward, doesn’t it?

And now, a little piping! I took this super-short video with my phone, before I knew the next song was going to be Amazing Grace which actually was amazing. So, that was my Saturday night – bagpipes and haggis! How was your weekend?

http://www.facebook.com/v/10150219175264880

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 8:27 am

    So that’s how you roll? Haggis, vodka, and men in kilts. I never would have guessed.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 11, 2011 11:48 am

      I am an international woman of mystery.

  2. April 11, 2011 11:20 am

    Bravo! I’m all for trying anything once, even if it’s just a bite. At least you had some vodka to chase it down with, if necessary.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 11, 2011 11:49 am

      Yes – you’ll never know if you like it if you don’t try it. I like yak meat as it turns out. Not so much with wild boar. Alligator isn’t bad – tastes like chicken! :-)

  3. April 11, 2011 12:40 pm

    I’ve been curious lately about haggis. They celebrate something called Robbie Burns Day here in Canada (Scotland’s national bard), which includes scotch and haggis. Thanks for tasting it for me! I’ll stick with the scotch.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 11, 2011 8:30 pm

      Sounds like a good plan, Caryl. Although I always take the chance to try new things. I am sure there is a line I would draw somewhere – it probably would have something to do with insects.

  4. April 11, 2011 7:02 pm

    Well, if there’s good vodka on hand, I’ll try anything. (This line of thinking got me married once.)

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      April 11, 2011 8:32 pm

      Either vodka or a good ragu, right? :-)

  5. April 11, 2011 9:57 pm

    I realize you’ve become rather diverse in your willingness to try new foods, but haggis? I’m pretty sure I’d cross the line right there – no insects needed.
    So how’s the vodka? Doesn’t look like a brand I recognize.

  6. April 11, 2011 9:58 pm

    Oops – can you edit that to say “draw” the line rather than “cross” ? K, thanks! :-)

  7. April 12, 2011 5:16 pm

    You are so brave! I could have never done that!

  8. renae permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:27 pm

    Special presentation case???? Gaaaaah! I just threw up a little.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

