Skip to content

The Fine Cooking Meatloaferator!

February 24, 2011

So, the other day when I was browsing that awesome little cookbook I never did select a lamb recipe to try. I’m easily distracted by shiny things and the cover of the latest issue of Fine Cooking has a little sheen to it, particularly enhanced by that bacon covered meatloaf. The article inside encourages you to create your own meatloaf with their guidelines so I thought, Hey!! I could do that and make it Armenian style!

IMG_2307_edited-1

I followed along and started out with the aromatics. My theory was to style the meatloaf with the same flavors as in one of our favorite lamb dishes – Armenian shish kebab. For shish kebab, the marinade includes chopped onions, bell pepper, garlic and red wine so that’s what went into the pan.

IMG_2301_edited-1IMG_2303_edited-1IMG_2302_edited-1

And I even followed along with my photos like the magazine as well as I could because hey, if this is becoming a Fine Cooking tribute blog, I might as well go all the way. (Or I may have some strange obsessive disorder. It could go either way.)

IMG_2316_edited-1

For the bread part I went with a little sourdough but not because it was Armenian in any way. It was just what I bought and it sounded good for the grilled cheese I was planning for soup night later this week.

IMG_2313_edited-1

And here’s the raw meat, lamb and ground beef, set off nicely by the chopped parsley stains on my cutting board. Appealing, no?

IMG_2309_edited-1IMG_2310_edited-1

IMG_2311_edited-1IMG_2317_edited-1 

For my mix-in, I chose scallions because I had some and it sounded good.  For herbs, it was parsley, but of course.  There’s parsley in the shish kebab marinade too, and of course in tabouli and other good and tasty Armenian things. For spices I went with cumin, or kimyon in Armenian (which I learned from the cool old cookbook) and paprika, two spices I’ve seen in lots of Armenian recipes.  And then finally to get some tomato in there, I used traditional old ketchup for my glaze.

Did you ever color your hair or even perm it (Yes, I grew up in the 80′s) at home?  And did you blow right past that part about the test curl or test section, or putting the chemicals inside your elbow? Yeah, me too.  But this time, I followed instructions. I actually took a wee bit of the meatloaf mix and made a little patty and fried it.  And it didn’t give me a rash or any frizz, but I did think it could use a little kick so I tossed in a little chile powder too.  Then I baked my masterpiece and eagerly awaited my meatloaf mix mastery results.  Sadly, the piece de la resistance is my worst out of focus photo. Bastard artificial lighting and/or hunger pangs.

IMG_2318_edited-1

Blurry funky colored photo aside, this was some good meatloaf!  And the important part is that my husband, who doesn’t always care for ground lamb, liked this. Yay! 

And with Fine Cooking’s Create Your Own Meatloaf Recipe Maker, you can make your own cool meatloaf too.  It’s fun! I dragged all my ingredients into the bowl and out popped my recipe, all calculated and formulated and ready to roll. Unfortunately, it didn’t stick its hands into the bowl full of raw meat and mix it up for me but maybe they can work on that for their next recipe maker, mmm-kay?


11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 10:10 pm

    I don’t like lamb or meatloaf, so I’m not tempted at all by this recipe, but your photos are really nice! Good work on those!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 25, 2011 6:25 pm

      Thank you! Maybe you should try the meatloaferator anyway and find a meatloaf you would like. How could beef, cheese & stout topped with bacon be bad?

      • February 27, 2011 4:02 pm

        That combination does sound like it should be good, but I am always disappointed whenever I get conned into trying a meatloaf recipe!

  2. February 25, 2011 10:49 am

    I see your Man Pan is being put to good use. Mmmmm, meatloaf.

  3. February 25, 2011 11:27 am

    You mean, you didn’t test a piece of meatloaf on the inside of your arm?

    I loooove meatloaf. Always have. I’m working on getting my dude to enjoy it.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 25, 2011 6:26 pm

      I never used to be a fan but my dude does like it so I have been trying different ones to find one I really like. I have come to enjoy it quite a bit!

  4. February 25, 2011 1:41 pm

    I usually buy a lower fat cut of lamb, (or beef) in cubed pieces and then ask the butcher to mince it for me… you know exactly what you are getting and what you are adding to it and the meatloaf is great!
    That reminds me… I’d like to add meatloaf to the menu this week we haven’t had it in a while since I’ve been off kitchen duty for the most part.
    Cool photos! you know I like to see “the process” in recipe posts LOL.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 25, 2011 6:27 pm

      Thanks! My meat came pre-ground from the CSA but I feel pretty comfortable about whatever they send me.

  5. February 25, 2011 2:15 pm

    Oh, beautiful, as always! It is before noon and now I am craving meatloaf:)
    Thanks for sending!
    Michaela @finecoking

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 25, 2011 6:27 pm

      You’re welcome!! Thanks for stopping by – love those recipe makers!!

  6. February 27, 2011 4:49 pm

    I so love meatloaf…. Mmmm. One of my favorite foods!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

