Skip to content

Hey, this bread is full of pizza!

February 15, 2011

If you really wanted to, you could call this a calzone, I guess. I am not calling it that. I am calling it pizza bread. It’s bread that is stuffed with pizza stuff and there is a fine difference here. Pizza dough is pizza dough and bread dough is bread dough. There’s a difference, my friends.

IMG_2262_edited-1

In my non-expert opinion, I say the big difference between bread dough and pizza dough is fat. Pizza dough has fat in it, peferably lard. Yeah, I said it. Lard. Seriously – go read this post I contributed to The Amauteur Gourmet Community Blog. I know you think you have great pizza dough that you make with your fancy olive oil. But I am here to tell you – just try it once. Replace the olive oil with lard and see if it isn’t a revelation.

But back to this thing. This dough I had sitting in the fridge had no fat in it. It is the ubiquitous 5 minutes-a-day bread. I wasn’t even quite sure I had enough dough left to stuff it but it was Friday and I wanted something pizza-like. I made a valiant attempt to mix some dry herbs into the dough, but that’s kind of hard to do when the dough is almost made. It got a little uneven so some part of the dough had lots of herbs and others had not much. I forged on anyway and rolled it out into a rectangle.

Meanwhile, I preheated the oven to 450 with my pizza stone on the middle rack. While it was heating, I threw in a pan of chopped up onions, garlic and shallots and let them roast with a little olive oil. By the time the oven was hot, the onion mixture was nice & softened & roasty.

I spread a little marinara sauce over my dough rectangle and started layering it up with pepperoni, mozzarella cheese and the onion mix. Then I wrestled it into a bread-like shape and pinched it closed along the edges. I let it rest for about 10 minutes on my pizza peel before brushing it with melted butter and popping it in the oven. It took a little longer to bake than I thought – close to 40 minutes. But it was worth the wait!

IMG_2263_edited-1

I sliced it up and served it with extra marinara on the side for dipping and I didn’t even miss the lard. Because this was not a pizza or a calzone, darn it. It’s bread, and it’s stuffed with pizza stuff. It’s pizza bread. And it’s good.

IMG_2264_edited-1

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 2:48 am

    The argument for me to so searching for a pizza stone is getting stronger by the minutes after reading this! Gosh that looks good! ( and pizza is way down the list if my favourite meals, so that’s really saying something)

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 16, 2011 7:35 pm

      Kiwi, I really love my pizza stone. I make breads and pizzas on it all the time. I think it really does make a difference and gives you a better texture than a regular pan.

  2. February 16, 2011 8:27 am

    Dang girl, I don’t even eat pizza but you’ve got me wanting to pick up a slice and it’s not even 8:30am.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 16, 2011 7:35 pm

      Wait, what? You don’t eat pizza?

  3. February 16, 2011 8:47 am

    Okay…I will not call it a calzone. Though it sure looks like one. ;) Not a big fan of onions, would mushrooms work?

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 16, 2011 7:35 pm

      I think mushrooms would rock this bread’s world.

  4. February 16, 2011 9:21 am

    This has me craving the stromboli my mom used to make as a kid! They looked just like that. I guess I’m going to have to finally get out and use my Bread in 5 Minutes A Day book.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 16, 2011 7:36 pm

      Stromboli! Okay, that’s a word I will live with for this. It’s not a calzone. :-)

  5. February 16, 2011 9:23 am

    This looks so good. I want some for breakfast!

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink*
      February 16, 2011 7:36 pm

      Lauren, the leftovers heated up really nicely!

  6. February 16, 2011 8:25 pm

    Oh wow – that looks amazing!!

  7. February 16, 2011 8:37 pm

    I want some RIGHT.NOW.

  8. February 16, 2011 8:40 pm

    Wow! I knew I shouldn’t have looked… I just got home from a workout and now I’m hungry for pizza bread!!!!

  9. Andrea permalink
    February 17, 2011 6:45 pm

    My MIL makes something very similar. So good!!!

  10. February 20, 2011 9:12 pm

    This looks so good! I love using the Artisan Bread in Five dough for pepperoni bread.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

