Skip to content

First Taste: Grass-fed Steak & Cheese Sandwiches

June 18, 2010

Last night, we had our first taste of the collection of grass-fed meats I purchased from 8 O’Clock Ranch.  Of all things, I decided to start with the cube steak.  As I mentioned in my last post, cube steak is not exactly my favorite.  But as I also mentioned, I was a little perplexed at how I was going to contend with all these small, individual different cuts when feeding the whole family.  So, my first thought was that in order to stretch that cube steak out a bit, I could cut it into small pieces and use it in steak sandwiches, as in Pioneer Woman’s famous Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich recipe.  I’ve made her recipe many times, although I usually use a flank steak that I pound out myself first.  I made my own changes to the recipe and came out with this:

IMG_0671

First, instead of just onions, I also cooked down some peppers in the butter.

IMG_0673

And here’s the cube steak itself – two decent size pieces with very little fat!

IMG_0674

I sliced it into thin pieces against the grain and seasoned it simply with just a little kosher salt and fresh ground pepper.

IMG_0676

I removed the onions and peppers from the pan, added more butter and cooked the meat quickly, about one minute on each side.  I tossed the onions and peppers back in and stirred it all together, and then sampled a plain piece of meat before I added anything else.  I have to say, it was pretty tasty!  I suppose the butter didn’t hurt, but there was something about it – it almost had what I would call a very “clean” flavor to it, although I can’t really articulate beyond that what I mean.  I added a splash of Worcestershire and a few drops of hot sauce and let the mixture come together over low heat.

IMG_0675

Meanwhile, I sliced open these lovely club rolls I got at the Big Y bakery and placed a slice of provolone on each and broiled till golden brown and delicious!

IMG_0677

And here’s the assembled sandwich in all its glory!  Of course it was delicious.  Was it more delicious than any other steak and cheese I had made before?  I’m not sure.  I will say that despite the leanness, this meat remained very tender, perfect for taking bites off of a sandwich.  There may have been too many other flavors competing with the beef here for an unbiased judgement, but so far, so good!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

